Exclusive Interview | Joel Cleopatre for Adecco CEO of the Month

Adecco Mauritius CEO of the Month is offering a great opportunity for 50 Young individuals to lead the organization is various countries including Mauritius. For this edition, we decided to interview Joel Cleopatre, the former CEO of the Month for Mauritius in 2015.

Joel is now employed as Communication Executive at Adecco Mauritius.

  1. Let’s begin this interview with who is Joel Cleopatre?

I graduated from Curtin University of Technology with a BA in Mass Communication. When I finished university, I did some voluntary work for AIESEC in Mauritius and in India. At that time, it was difficult for me to land a job in my field of study, so after a long time waiting, I decided to join the retail department of the MCB. Some might say it was a bold decision, but I would say that these years spent at the MCB taught me lots of things. The importance of culture & values, discipline at work and most important ethics in the corporate world were among the things I acquired during this time. If it weren’t for this, I wouldn’t have made it to where I am today.

  1. Where did you hear of Adecco Mauritius and its CEO of the Month at first?

I had never heard about Adecco before. I remember I was listening to the radio when I first heard Jennifer Webb de Commarmond (ndlr, CEO of Adecco Mauritius) talking on the radio about the CEO for one Month initiative.

  1. Why have you decided to take be part of this initiative?

This once-in-a lifetime opportunity was the chance for youngsters to develop their potential. Can you believe that Adecco, the leader in HR services, gives a youngster the chance to become the CEO for one month of the Group? Out of curiosity, I applied for the position as I am avid of new challenges. I never set a limit to what I can do, and with this initiative it was the perfect moment.

  1. How was the selection process?

There were several steps in the selection process of CEO for One Month. There was the mobile application, phone interviews, face to face interviews, series of tests, as well as panel interviews among others. I am very thankful to my family who showed a great support during the whole selection process and during the whole campaign.

  1. How does it feel to be at the top of one of the leading HR company in the world?

I was at the top of Adecco Mauritius; it was Ayumi Kunori from Japan who won the campaign and was CEO for One Month of the Adecco Group. I felt happy, but then you realize the burden which comes along.

  1. What have you learnt? 

This once-in-a lifetime chance was indeed a milestone in my career during which I had the chance to further enhance numerous skills such as management, negotiation and leadership. I strongly believe that a good company should value innovation and adequate training in order to be successful in the long run.

  1. What was your biggest challenge as CEO and how did you overcome it?

I had to develop a strategic business plan for the Adecco Group for the next 5 years and present it to a panel of the Adecco Group. Easy some may say, but try to do it; while you have a schedule filled with business meetings with senior management, with the employees, interviews for the press, as well attending some job interview for the candidates. I had a good team to support me throughout the whole process, we were able to share ideas, and work together for the same goal.

  1. How did this adventure change your personal and professional life?

After my month spent at CEO for One Month, Adecco Mauritius offered me the job of Communication Executive. My personal life is pretty much the same, except sometimes, people recognize me and ask me about my experience.

  1. If you had to convince someone to be part of the adventure – What would you say?

When given the chance to apply, youngsters like me, should put all their commitment and passion into it. I understand that sometimes many of you are completely unaware of what you truly want and it is normal. But you have to dig deeper and trust yourself, let yourself be fueled by the passion to find the power to take the opportunity and design your life in a new way. Do not let it slip away, do not limit yourself to what you have learnt, instead take the leap and apply for this position that will open up opportunities.

10) Quick set of questions:-

a) How do you see the future of Mauritius for the youth?

I strongly believe that our youth has a strong potential and they have to believe in themselves more in order to be able to change the course of our future.

b) What do you have to say about youth unemployment?

That nothing lasts forever. More students should apply for internships during their holidays so that when they finish university they already have a good knowledge of what is expected from them in the corporate world.

 

To learn more on how to apply for ‘CEO for One Month’ and about Adecco Way to WorkTM www.adecco.mu .

Watch the CEO for One Month 2016 Video


Adecco Way to Work™ resources

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/adecco.m

Twitter: https://twitter.com/adecco_mu

One thought on “Exclusive Interview | Joel Cleopatre for Adecco CEO of the Month

Leave a Reply

